Hours: Mon.-Thurs. 10am-2pm
Tel: (906) 387-4404Fax: (906) 387-5719
Office is CLOSED when schools are closed due to inclement weather.

Boards and Committees

Township Board

Township government is conducted by a township board consisting of either five or seven members, depending upon the desires of the inhabitants and whether or not the township has a population of over 5,000, or 3,000 registered electors or is a charter township. The officers of the board are designated supervisor, clerk, treasurer and trustee, with the trustees numbering either two or four. The township board may also serve in other specific capacities, such as a park or utility board.

The term of office for all township officials is four years. The terms commence at 12 p.m. on November 20 following the November general election, provided the newly elected officials have qualified for office by that time. To qualify, a successful candidate must file any necessary bond and take an oath of office before the township clerk, deputy clerk or other officer qualified to administer the oath, such as the county clerk or deputy county clerk, notary public, judge or justice (of any court of record), or the state representative or senator.

The supervisor, clerk, treasurer and trustee must take the oath of office before entering into the duties of their offices. (MCL 168.363) The deputy supervisor (MCL 41.61(2)), deputy clerk (MCL 41.69) and deputy treasurer (MCL 41.77) must take the oath after their appointment and before entering into office.

The clerk (MCL 41.69) and the treasurer (MCL 41.77) must each appoint a deputy. The deputy clerk and deputy treasurer must also be bonded. The supervisor may appoint a deputy (MCL 41.61). Deputy township officials are authorized to act as the elected official in the event of the official’s absence, sickness, death or other disability. A deputy may not, however, vote as a member of the township board. With the official’s approval and the consent of the township board, a deputy may assist the elected official at any additional times agreed to by the board and the official. Deputies are not required to be residents of the township, and may be paid compensation as determined by the township board.

Elected Officials:
Lisa Howard, Supervisor
Patty Willson, Clerk
Carmon Decet, Appointed Treasurer
Selina Balko, Trustee
Jolene Hetherington, Appointed Trustee

Deputy Clerk – Selina Balko
Deputy Treasurer – Janet Miron

Board  of Review

  • Examines and reviews the assessment roll for the current year as prepared by the supervisor/assessor.
  • Adds property omitted from the assessment roll.
  • Corrects errors in names, descriptions of property, and the assessment and valuation of property.
  • Hears taxpayer appeals.
  • Endorses the completed assessment roll.

Three, six or nine members appointed by the township board. Board of review members must be electors (residents) (MCL 211.28). At least 2/3 of the members shall be property taxpayers of the township.

A member of the township board may not serve on the board of review or fill any vacancy.

A spouse, mother, father, sister, brother, son or daughter, including an adopted child, of the assessor is not eligible to serve on the board or fill any vacancy.


Ken Heyrman, Chair
Lisa Howard, Secretary
Jon Mills
Kim Cromell
Marianne Laskay (Alternate)

Planning Commission

  • Shall make and adopt a basic plan as a guide for the development of the unincorporated portions of the township.
  • Shall approve/deny construction, location and character of streets, squares, parks or other public ways, grounds or open space, or public buildings and structures.
  • Capital improvements planning.

The township board may designate the powers of a zoning board to a planning commission, including making recommendations as to a zoning plan, districts and ordinance, and, per the township’s ordinance, approving special land uses, planned unit developments and site plans.

5, 7 or 9 members, who must be representative of important segments of the community, such as the economic, governmental, educational, and social development of the local unit of government, in accordance with the major interests as they exist in the local unit of government, such as agriculture, natural resources, recreation, education, public health, government, transportation, industry, and commerce. The membership must also be representative of the entire geography of the local unit of government to the extent practicable.

Members of a planning commission must be qualified electors of the township, except one planning commission member may be individual who is not a qualified elector. (To be a qualified elector, a person must be 18 years of age, a U.S. citizen, and have lived in the township at least 30 days. Property ownership is NOT required).

One member of the township board shall be an ex officio member of the planning commission.

All members of the planning commission shall be appointed by the township supervisor with the approval of the township board, for a term of 3 years, with the exception of the ex officio member, whose term expires with his or her term on the township board.

Jolene Hetherington, Township Board Representative, Secretary
Robynne Woodaz, Chair
Keith Tackett
Eric Artress
Robert Helsel
Chelsea Heyrman

Zoning Board of Appeals

Shall hear and decide questions that arise in the administration of the zoning ordinance, including the interpretation of the zoning maps.

Shall hear and decide appeals from and review any order, requirement, decision, or determination made by an administrative official or body charged with enforcement of a zoning ordinance.

Shall hear and decide matters referred to it by the zoning ordinance or that it is required to pass under the zoning ordinance.

Decides variance requests.

Hears special land use and planned unit development appeals only if provided for by zoning ordinance.

Todd Dejong
Chris Deleeuw
Karen Gamelin
Jolene Hetherington, Alternate